This browser is supported only in Windows 10 and above.
(Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images)

X-Files fans upset at the almighty cliffhanger in last night’s season finale rejoice! Two new episodes in the adventures of Mulder and Scully have been announced.

The best part? We already know how they end. That’s because they’re prequels, both set in the spring of 1979, when serial murder, the occult and government conspiracy dominated the news. Just don’t start booting up your TV in anticipation; these prequels will take the form of books.

Entertainment Weekly reports the two upcoming YA novels – Agent of Chaos and Devil’s Advocate – will be part of a new literary series called The X-Files Origins.

Agent of Chaos, written by New York Times bestselling author Kami Garcia, will tell the story of a 17-year-old Fox Mulder, played in the TV show by David Duchovny, and describe the life-changing events that set him on the path of becoming a believer.

Devil’s Advocate, on the other hand, will focus on 15-year-old Dana Scully, and how she came to be the skeptical FBI agent depicted by Gillian Anderson on the cult TV show. It’ll be written by Jonathan Marberry, a New York Times bestselling thriller and horror novelist and Marvel Comics writer.

Both books will be released by Imprint/Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group, but they won’t see the light of day until January 2017. As for more X-Files episodes, Chris Carter, the show’s creator, hasn’t ruled out the possibility, saying during the show’s panel at the Television Critics’ Association press tour in January that everybody is on board, schedules permitting.

X-Philes, there’s only one thing for it: hrrrrrrnnnng.

Read More
By Kat Sommers
Kat is a freelance writer for Anglophenia.