This browser is supported only in Windows 10 and above.
The cover of “Babel” by Mumford and Sons

Ah, finally some concrete information emerges!

After confusing fans with their recent teaser trailer, Mumford and Sons have finally announced proper details of their second album, which will be called “Babel,” and is coming out on September 24, although you can pre-order it from late July.

The album, produced by Markus Dravs (who also oversaw their officially-quite-successful debut “Sigh No More”), hits the stores smack dab in the middle of the band’s current world tour, called ‘Gentlemen of the Road.’ This probably explains the slightly odd collection of clothing on display in the cover art, including some red socks which have “save for laundry day” written all over them.

On the topic of the album – they didn’t comment on the socks, oddly enough – the band said this:

“We had started writing new songs well before we got into the studio to record. At first, we peeled ourselves off the road quite reluctantly. We love playing live, obviously, but it had also become an important part of our creative process, we had been writing and rehearsing in soundchecks, and sort of ‘road-testing’ new songs on our very gracious audiences. But then we fell in love with recording again.

“As a band, we’ve never been closer or more collaborative, all working to our strengths. And so we feel that this record is a natural progression that we’re proud of, and we cannot wait to take it out on the road.”

The full track-listing is as follows:

1.     “Babel”
2.     “Whispers In The Dark”
3.     “I Will Wait”
4.     “Holland Road”
5.     “Ghosts That We Knew”
6.     “Lover Of The Light”
7.     “Lovers’ Eyes”
8.     “Reminder”
9.     “Hopeless Wanderer”
10.   “Broken Crown”
11.   “Below My Feet”
12.   “Not With Haste”

Here’s a version of “Lover’s Eyes” from last year, as an appetite wettener:

Read More
Filed Under: Mumford and Sons
By Fraser McAlpine