This browser is supported only in Windows 10 and above.

Arctic Monkeys

Alex Turner and company are back after a two-year hiatus! The boys from Sheffield dutifully hunkered down in a L.A. studio with producer James Ford and have emerged with their fourth album, Suck It and See, NME reports. (Hey, with Blink-182 inactive for years, music fans the world over were being deprived of suggestive album titles. Cheers to the Monkeys for stepping in.)

And the LP a UK release date: June 6. I’m assuming, since they are touring here this spring, a U.S. release will follow shortly. After their third album, 2009’s Humbug, failed to secure them the critical feverish acclaim of their debut Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not and their sophomore release, Favourite Worst Nightmare, could Suck It And See be their “comeback” record? We teased the band’s new track, “Brick By Brick,” in our music roundup earlier this week (March 8). It’s great pop and sounds a bit like a forgotten track from an old Nuggets collection. But Alex Turner’s much-lauded wordplay is missing. “I want to steal your soul,” he sings. “I want to rock ‘n’ roll.” Hopefully, Alex re-discovers his rapid-fire lyricism on the other tracks.

And speaking of the album’s other tracks, here’s a full listing:

‘She’s Thunderstorms’
‘Black Treacle’
‘Brick By Brick’
‘The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala’
‘Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair’
‘Library Pictures’
‘All My Own Stunts’
‘Reckless Serenade’
‘Piledriver Waltz’
‘Love Is A Laserquest’
‘Suck It And See’
‘That’s Where You’re Wrong’

Read More
Filed Under: Arctic Monkeys, James Ford
By Kevin Wicks
Kevin Wicks is the founding editor of Anglophenia.