This browser is supported only in Windows 10 and above.

The nominees for this year’s BRIT Awards – the UK equivalent to the Grammys – were announced earlier today. Florence and the Machine, Lily Allen, Lady Gaga, Pixie Lott, and boyband JLS lead this year’s BRIT Award nominations with three apiece. Lily, Florence, and Pixie are all nominated for British Female Solo Artist of the year, competing against Bat For Lashes and Leona Lewis. The Guardian has pointed out Susan Boyle as a notable omission, especially given Boyle’s massive sales success in ’09.

Robbie Williams, owner of more BRIT Awards than any other artist, is up for the Outstanding Contribution award a.k.a. Lifetime Achievement. The awards will be held February 16th in London. Here’s the list of nominees:

British Female Solo Artist
Bat for Lashes
Florence & the Machine
Leona Lewis
Lily Allen
Pixie Lott

British Male Solo Artist
Calvin Harris
Dizzee Rascal
Paolo Nutini
Robbie Williams

British Breakthrough Act
Florence & the Machine
Friendly Fires
La Roux
Pixie Lott

British Group
Friendly Fires

MasterCard British Album
Dizzee Rascal – Tongue n’Cheek
Florence & the Machine – Lungs
Kasabian – West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum
Lily Allen – It’s Not Me, It’s You
Paolo Nutini – Sunny Side Up

British Single
Alesha Dixon – Breathe Slow
Alexandra Burke Ft Flo Rida – Bad Boys
Cheryl Cole – Fight For This LoveJoe McElderry – The Climb
JLS – Beat Again
La Roux – In For The Kill
Lily Allen – The Fear
Pixie Lott – Mama Do
Taio Cruz – Break Your Heart
Tinchy Stryder Ft N-Dubz – Number 1

Critics’ Choice
Ellie Goulding

BRITs Album of 30 Years
Coldplay – A Rush of Blood to the Head
Dido – No Angel
Dire Straits – Brothers in Arms
Duffy – Rockferry
Keane – Hopes & Fears
Oasis – (What’s the Story) Morning Glory?
Phil Collins – No Jacket Required
Sade – Diamond Life
The Verve – Urban Hymns
Travis – The Man Who

International Female Solo Artist
Lady Gaga
Norah Jones

International Male Solo Artist
Bruce Springsteen
Michael Buble
Seasick Steve

International Album
Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion
Black Eyed Peas – The End
Empire of the Sun – Walking on a Dream
Jay-Z – The Blueprint 3
Lady Gaga – The Fame

International Breakthrough Act
Animal Collective
Daniel Merriweather
Empire of the Sun
Lady Gaga
Taylor Swift

Outstanding Contribution Award
Robbie Williams Read More

By Kevin Wicks
Kevin Wicks is the founding editor of Anglophenia.