About the Show

The BAFTA Los Angeles Britannia Awards 2013 premieres Sunday, November 10, 9/8c as a two-hour special including footage of the Britannia Awards Red Carpet.

George Clooney, Idris Elba, Sir Ben Kingsley, Kathryn Bigelow, Benedict Cumberbatch, and Sacha Baron Cohen will be honored at the BAFTA Los Angeles Britannia Awards 2013, hosted by award-winning actor and comedian Rob Brydon. Presenters for the evening will include Sigourney Weaver, Julia Roberts, Ralph Fiennes, Jennifer Ehle, Sean Penn, Judd Apatow, Alice Eve and Chiwetel Ejiofor. Televised for the second time by BBC AMERICA, the event is a celebration of achievements honoring individuals and companies that have dedicated their careers to advancing the entertainment arts. Previous Britannia ceremonies have honored powerhouse names including Daniel Craig, Daniel Day-Lewis, Quentin Tarantino, Martin Scorsese, Kate Winslet, Sir Anthony Hopkins, Dame Helen Mirren, Tom Hanks, Denzel Washington and many more.

Idris Elba will receive The BAFTA LA Britannia Humanitarian Award, an award created to honor those who have used the moving image to promote charitable causes. Prior recipients include Richard Curtis, Don Cheadle and Colin Firth.

Sacha Baron Cohen will receive The Charlie Chaplin Britannia Award for Excellence in Comedy, an award which bears the name of the consummate British comedic artist and one of the most universally recognized personalities in the history of entertainment. The honor recognizes talent whose popularity and cultural impact exemplifies the uniquely transcendent quality of excellent comedy.

Benedict Cumberbatch will receive the Britannia Award for British Artist of the Year, an award paying tribute to a talented British artist whose outstanding performances in a year have demonstrated the high quality of their craftsmanship. Whether an emerging talent, or an established name, the British Artist of the Year honors a person who represents the best of UK’s talent. Prior recipients include Daniel Craig, Kate Winslet, Tilda Swinton, Helena Bonham Carter, Emily Blunt, Michael Sheen, Rachel Weisz, and more.

George Clooney will receive the Stanley Kubrick Britannia Award for Excellence in Film, an award presented to a unique individual, upon whose work is stamped the indelible mark of authorship and commitment, and who has lifted the craft to new heights.

Kathryn Bigelow will receive the John Schlesinger Britannia Award for Excellence in Directing, an award paying tribute to the legacy of the brilliant British director who made an unprecedented contribution to one of the great periods in American cinema. Recipients of this honor are deeply respected, distinctive and innovative directors, whose contribution as both technicians and artists represents the zenith of the directing profession.

Sir Ben Kingsley will receive the Albert R. Broccoli Britannia Award for Worldwide Contribution to Entertainment. Recipients are that rare breed of iconic and trail-blazing individuals whose innovative approach has had a profound, lasting impact on the entertainment industry and whose contributions to the moving image are second to none.

About the Show