Anglophenia at San Diego Comic-Con: Follow Us on Twitter

Looking great for 38! (Of course I'm changing this caption) (AP)

(AP)

It’s that time of year again: time to brave the California sun in our best cosplay and head to San Diego Comic-Con. And there’s enough going on at the 2014 convention to fill a TARDIS and a dozen Millennium Falcons. And we’ll be covering much of it on the @Anglophenia Twitter handle, so be sure to follow us.

On Thursday (July 24), follow us at 2:30 pm ET (11:30 am PT), when we’ll be live-tweeting Benedict Cumberbatch’s debut on the Hall H panel for the animated film Penguins of Madagascar, for which he has lent his considerable vocal chops. He’ll be joined by castmates John Malkovich and Tom McGrath and directors Simon J. Smith and Eric Darnell.

While we’ll likely not hear any Star Wars: Episode VII news at this year’s Con, Thursday at 9 pm ET (6 pm PT), we’ll be covering the panel for the animated series Star Wars Rebels, led by stars Freddie Prinze, Jr., Vanessa Marshall, Steve Blum, Tiya Sircar, and Taylor Gray alongside executive producers Dave Filoni and Simon Kinberg.

Friday will be BBC AMERICA Day, as the network is bringing out two of its most buzzed-about original series—the critically acclaimed Orphan Black, which just completed its second season; and the new paranormal thriller Intruders, which stars Doctor Who and Life on Mars alum John Simm and Oscar winner Mira Sorvino. The Orphan Black panel takes place at 9 pm ET (6 pm PT), while the panel for Intruders kicks off 11 pm ET (8 pm PT). And we’ll be live-tweeting every moment.

But at a Comic-Con that will include Daniel Radcliffe‘s first San Diego appearance and a plethora of British-heavy titles from The Hobbit to Game of Thrones, who knows what we’ll have in store for your over these next few days. Stay tuned.

Visit BBC AMERICA’s official Comic-Con site for more photos and scheduling information.

Kevin Wicks

Kevin Wicks founded BBCAmerica.com's Anglophenia blog back in 2005 and has been translating British culture for an American audience ever since. While not British himself - he was born and raised in St. Louis, Missouri - he once received inordinate hospitality in London for sharing the name of a dead but beloved EastEnders character. His Anglophilia stems from a high school love of Morrissey, whom he calls his "gateway drug" into British culture.

See more posts by Kevin Wicks