BBCA’s ‘Broadchurch’ Scores Big With British Broadcasting Press

David Tennant and Olivia Colman as Detective Inspector Alec Hardy and Detective Sergeant Ellie Miller, respectively, in Broadchurch. (BBC)

David Tennant and Olivia Colman as Detective Inspector Alec Hardy and Detective Sergeant Ellie Miller, respectively, in Broadchurch. (BBC)

Last night, Broadchurch proved once again to have been the biggest new British drama of the past year when it picked up three of the most prestigious trophies at the Broadcasting Press Guild awards, voted by hard-bitten, cynical and impossible-to-please TV and radio journalists.

Their nominations saw to it that the detective drama’s creator, Chris Chibnall, won the writer award, and Olivia Colman took home the best actress trophy. Best of all, Broadchurch was awarded best drama series.

Meanwhile, Chiwetel Ejiofor has had to make even more room on his groaning trophy shelf when his performance in Stephen Poliakoff’s Dancing on the Edge, a tale of integration and music set in the jazz era, won him the best actor award.

And the special Harvey Lee award for outstanding contribution to broadcasting was given to Andrew Davies, creator of such Brit hits as House of CardsPride and Prejudice, and Bleak House.

Also worthy of note is The Wipers Times, the one-off retelling of a newspaper created by soldiers in the trenches of World War I, starring Monty Python’s Michael Palin, which won best single drama.

In fact, fans of British TV and radio in general could do worse than scan down the full list of winners below, and go and investigate anything you’ve not heard of before:

Best single drama – The Wipers Times

Best drama series – Broadchurch

Best single documentary – Syria: Across the Lines

Best documentary series – Educating Yorkshire

Best entertainment/comedy – Strictly Come Dancing

Best multichannel programme – The Tunnel

Best factual entertainment – Gogglebox

Radio broadcaster of the year – The Nick Ferrari Breakfast Show

Radio programme of the year – Tweet of the Day

Best actor – Chiwetel Ejiofor

Best actress – Olivia Colman

Best writer – Chris Chibnall

Breakthrough award – Jamie Dornan [for The Fall]

Innovation award – Sky Television

Harvey Lee award – Andrew Davies

See more: 
‘Broadchurch’s Creator Chris Chibnall Gets Theatrical with a New Play
Is David Tennant Going to Make It Back to ‘Broadchurch’?
Major Casting News for U.S. Version of ‘Broadchurch’
It’s Official: Olivia Colman Will Be Returning to ‘Broadchurch’

Fraser McAlpine

Fraser McAlpine

Fraser is a British writer, broadcaster and the the author of the book Stuff Brits Like. He is Anglophenia's resident Brit blogger, having written BBC Radio 1's Chart Blog, the Top of the Pops website, and for NME, the Guardian and elsewhere. Favorite topics include slang, Doctor Who and cramming as much music into Anglophenia as he can manage. He invites you to join him on Twitter: @csi_popmusic
View all posts by Fraser McAlpine.