‘Doctor Who': Billie Piper Nominated for British Equivalent of a Tony Award

Billie Piper, Jonjo O'Neill and Anastasia Hille in 'The Effect.' (Photo: Ellie Kurtz.)

Billie Piper, Jonjo O’Neill and Anastasia Hille in ‘The Effect.’ (Photo: Ellie Kurtz.)

The competition is fierce for Britain’s top award in West End theater, the Olivier. The nominees for the U.K.’s equivalent of Broadway’s Tony were announced this morning (March 26) in London, and quite frankly, the Tonys are really going to have to pack in the star power to match this year’s Olivier lineup.

Billie Piper, formerly (and forever in our hearts) Rose Tyler from Doctor Who, has been nominated for Best Actress for her role in The Effect, a play from Enron scribe Lucy Prebble centering on two participants in a clinical antidepressant trial who fall madly in love. Piper has received raves for her performance, with The Guardian calling her “excellent” and The Telegraph deeming her “superb,” adding that she has “an amazing ability to tap into deep and apparently entirely spontaneous emotion.”

However, the Actress race is truly tough, with Dame Helen Mirren up for playing the Queen (again) in The Audience, Kristin Scott Thomas recognized for swapping roles in Pinter’s Old Times, and upstart Hattie Morahan in a star-making turn in A Doll’s House.

The Actor in a Play category may be even more top-loaded, with James McAvoy up for Macbeth, reprising the role he once expertly played in a modern retelling for the BBC. And he faces Mr. Shakespeare himself, Mark Rylance, who could be a favorite to win for Twelfth Night. Rupert Everett (The Judas Kiss), Rafe Spall (Constellations), and Luke Treadaway (The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time) round out the field.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time leads all of this year’s productions with eight nominations. See the full list of nominees below:

Best Actor
Rupert Everett – The Judas Kiss
James McAvoy – Macbeth
Mark Rylance – Twelfth Night
Rafe Spall – Constellations
Luke Treadaway – The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time

Best Actress
Helen Mirren – The Audience
Hattie Morahan – A Doll’s House
Billie Piper – The Effect
Kristin Scott Thomas – Old Times

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Paul Chahidi – Twelfth Night
Richard McCabe – The Audience
Adrian Scarborough – Hedda Gabler
Kyle Soller – Long Day’s Journey Into Night

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Janie Dee – NSFW
Anastasia Hille – The Effect
Cush Jumbo – Julius Caesar (Donmar Warehouse)
Helen McCrory – The Last Of The Haussmans
Nicola Walker – The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time

MasterCard Best New Play
The Audience
The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time
This House

Best Director
Stephen Daldry – The Audience
Marianne Elliott – The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time
Jeremy Herrin – This House
Simon McBurney – The Master And Margarita

Best Actor in a Musical
Michael Ball – Sweeney Todd
Alex Bourne – Kiss Me, Kate
Tom Chambers – Top Hat
Will Young – Cabaret

Best Actress in a Musical
Heather Headley – The Bodyguard
Imelda Staunton – Sweeney Todd
Summer Strallen – Top Hat
Hannah Waddingham – Kiss Me, Kate

Best Performance in a Supporting Role in a Musical
Adam Garcia – Kiss Me, Kate
Debbie Kurup – The Bodyguard
Siân Phillips – Cabaret
Leigh Zimmerman – A Chorus Line

Best New Musical
Soul Sister
The Bodyguard
Top Hat

Best Revival
Long Day’s Journey Into Night
Old Times
Twelfth Night

Best Musical Revival
A Chorus Line
Kiss Me, Kate
Sweeney Todd

Best Entertainment and Family
Cinderella (St James theatre)
Goodnight Mister Tom
Hansel And Gretel
Room On The Broom

White Light Award for Best Lighting Design
Paul Anderson – The Master And Margarita
Paule Constable – The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time
Lee Curran – Constellations
Mark Henderson – Sweeney Todd

Best Sound Design
Ian Dickinson – The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time
Paul Groothuis – Sweeney Todd
David McSeveney – Constellations
Gareth Owen – Top Hat

Best Costume Design
Bob Crowley – The Audience
Jon Morrell – Top Hat
Jenny Tiramani – Twelfth Night
Anthony Ward – Sweeney Todd

XL Video Award for Best Set Design
Hildegard Bechtler – Top Hat
Miriam Buether & Wang Gongxin – Wild Swans
Bunny Christie & Finn Ross – The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time
Tim Hatley – The Bodyguard

Best New Dance Production
Aeternum by the Royal Ballet at the Royal Opera House, choreographed by Christopher Wheeldon
Cacti by Nederlands Dans Theatre 2 at Sadler’s Wells, choreographed by Alexander Ekman
A Streetcar Named Desire by Scottish Ballet at Sadler’s Wells

Outstanding Achievement in Dance
Lez Brotherston for the set and costumes for Matthew Bourne’s Sleeping Beauty, New Adventures at Sadler’s Wells
ILL-Abilities company in Breakin’ Convention at Sadler’s Wells
Marianela Nunez for Aeternum, Diana & Actaeon and Viscera, The Royal Ballet at the Royal Opera House

Best Theatre Choreographer
Scott Ambler – Chariots Of Fire
Bill Deamer – Top Hat
Scott Graham & Steven Hoggett – The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time
Stephen Mear – Kiss Me, Kate

Outstanding Achievement in Affiliate Theatre
Caroline Horton for You’re Not Like The Other Girls Chrissy at the Bush theatre
The production of Red Velvet at the Tricycle theatre
The season of new writing at the Jerwood Theatre Upstairs at the Royal Court theatre
Kate Bond and Morgan Lloyd for You Me Bum Bum Train, presented by Theatre Royal Stratford East

Best New Opera Production
Billy Budd, English National Opera at the London Coliseum
Caligula, English National Opera at the London Coliseum
Einstein On The Beach at the Barbican theatre
La Traviata, English National Opera at the London Coliseum

Outstanding Achievement in Opera
Edward Gardner for his conducting of The Flying Dutchman and Billy Budd at the English National Opera, London Coliseum
Bryan Hymel for his performances in Les Troyens, Robert Le Diable and Rusalka at the Royal Opera House
Music Theatre Wales for In the Locked Room/Ghost Patrol at the Linbury Theatre, the Royal Opera House
The Stage Management teams at English National Opera, London Coliseum and the Royal Opera House

BBC Radio 2 Audience Award
Billy Elliot The Musical
Matilda The Musical
The Phantom Of The Opera

Special Award
Gillian Lynne
Michael Frayn

Kevin Wicks

Kevin Wicks

Kevin Wicks founded BBCAmerica.com's Anglophenia blog back in 2005 and has been translating British culture for an American audience ever since. While not British himself—he was born and raised in St. Louis, Missouri—he once received inordinate hospitality in London for sharing the name of a dead but beloved EastEnders character. His Anglophilia stems from a high school love of Morrissey, whom he calls his "gateway drug" into British culture.
View all posts by Kevin Wicks.