‘Harry Potter’ Film Series Wins Early BAFTA Award

Daniel Radcliffe as Harry Potter. Photo: Warner Bros.

Although the ceremony is over a week away, Harry Potter has already won a BAFTA award. As BBC News reports, the entire film franchise, based on JK Rowling‘s best-selling fantasy novels, will receive this year’s Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema prize at the British Academy Film Awards. Rowling and producer David Heyman will appear at the February 13 ceremony to accept the award.

Harry Potter‘s “contribution” to British cinema itself is undeniable. Since the release of the very first film in 2001, the franchise has employed an extraordinary number of the nation’s actors and pulled in a worldwide box-office take of $5.4 billion. (That’s not counting the sure-to-be huge numbers for the eighth and final film, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, which is pegged for a July premiere.) Earnings from the franchise have made stars Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, and Rupert Grint multi-millionaires.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1
is nominated for two competitive BAFTAs this year: Best Hair and Makeup and Best Special Visual Effects. The British Academy Film Awards air Sunday, February 13 at 8 pm EST on BBC America.

Kevin Wicks

Kevin Wicks

Kevin Wicks founded BBCAmerica.com's Anglophenia blog back in 2005 and has been translating British culture for an American audience ever since. While not British himself—he was born and raised in St. Louis, Missouri—he once received inordinate hospitality in London for sharing the name of a dead but beloved EastEnders character. His Anglophilia stems from a high school love of Morrissey, whom he calls his "gateway drug" into British culture.
View all posts by Kevin Wicks.