BBC AMERICA Earns Five Edgar Allan Poe Award Nominations

It’s been a fabulous awards week at BBC AMERICA. First, we got those twin Golden Globes earlier this week. Now, we’re the leading network up for Edgar Allan Poe Awards, which are handed out by the Mystery Writers of America. The nominations were announced today, and we received five nominations, including four out of the five nods for Best Television Feature/Mini-Series. Here are the categories in which BBC AMERICA shows are represented:

The Closer – “Blue Blood”
Teleplay by James Duff & Mike Berchem
(Turner Network Television)

Dexter – “Crocodile”
Teleplay by Clyde Phillips

House – “Clueless”
Teleplay by Thomas L. Moran
(Fox/NBC Universal)

Life on Mars – Episode 1
Teleplay by Matthew Graham
(BBC America)

Teleplay by Bill Gallagher
(BBC America)

Cracker: A New Terror
Teleplay by Jimmy McGovern
(BBC America)

Messiah: The Harrowing
Teleplay by Terry Cafolla
(BBC America)

Secret Smile
Teleplay by Kate Brooke, based on the book by Nicci French
(BBC America)

The Wire, Season 4
Teleplays by Ed Burns, Kia Corthron, Dennis Lehane, David Mills, Eric Overmyer, George Pelecanos, Richard Price, David Simon, & WilliamF. Zorzi
(Home Box Office)

The awards will be handed out April 26th.

Kevin Wicks

Kevin Wicks

Kevin Wicks founded's Anglophenia blog back in 2005 and has been translating British culture for an American audience ever since. While not British himself—he was born and raised in St. Louis, Missouri—he once received inordinate hospitality in London for sharing the name of a dead but beloved EastEnders character. His Anglophilia stems from a high school love of Morrissey, whom he calls his "gateway drug" into British culture.
View all posts by Kevin Wicks.